Thanks for your help!

Thanks again to those of you who visited my website and took my survey! I really appreciate your feedback and have learned a lot from the results. Although I sent the survey out  to quite a few people via email, just as many surveys were answered through the link I posted previously. I had no idea that would happen when I posted it a few days ago, and when the surveys started pouring in, I honestly could not believe it. Thank you so very much for taking the time to help me with the final step in this project!

If you have been following my other posts this week, you know that I have blogged a lot about the things I’ve learned along the way during this project. I have gained valuable skills in filming, editing, and website design through this experience, and I am sure it will all come in handy in the future.

One thing I failed to mention in the previous posts, however, was something I was reminded of again and again this semester. I was reminded that your friends and family should be the first people you turn to when you’re trying to spread the word about something like a survey, for example. I needed so many survey responses, but I didn’t want them to just come from people in my own circle. So, I asked my friends to forward the survey link to their friends and family, which provided me with more diversity in my results.

I also utilized social media to try and gain more responses. Yes, I blogged about the survey and website, but I also posted the link to my Instagram and posted it on Facebook and Twitter. I received a huge number of survey responses from something that comes as second nature to our generation.

Screen Shot 2014-04-26 at 10.40.00 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-26 at 10.38.37 PM

I could never write down or blog every single thing I learned through this project because there was just so much. The fact that it is finished is bittersweet, and I must admit that I feel a little strange without it. I’m looking forward to the next step in this program, however, and can’t wait to see what it has in store for me and the rest of my community journalism pals. Next stop: Anniston!

images (1)

Leave a Reply

