Finish Master’s Project: Check.

Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 10.43.29 PM

If you’ve been following my blog for the last few months you’ll know that I have been diligently working on a website for the graduate program I am in at the University of Alabama. There have been ups and downs, and there were definitely days when I didn’t know if I could pull it off, but I’m happy to announce that the website is now up and running. I’m proud of the finished product, but I highly doubt I’ll ever stop tweaking it. I’ve become far more attached to the topic than I thought I would be, and am honestly hoping to make it a project I continue to work on even after I receive my Master’s degree.

Since it is fairly new, not many people have seen my website, and I don’t know that very many people will ever see it. However, I’ve already been told by a few that it helped them to gain a new perspective. Others have said it was comforting to hear from others who share similar experiences as caregivers. Those comments have made me realize that giving caregivers a platform to share their stories is important, and I will gladly continue to do it if I can.

So, here it is: www.caregivers.ua.edu. Please check it out and let me know what you think!

While you are on the site, you will notice that there are four videos that focus on four different families. The interviews are with the caregivers, and they will give you a glimpse into their lives. Some of their experiences are similar and some of their experiences are not, but the point is that they are not alone.

I have two main goals for this project: first, I hope that people who do not know much about Alzheimer’s or the effects it has on the entire family will gain a new perspective, causing them to see the importance of raising awareness of this disease. Caregivers of those with Alzheimer’s have been called “hidden caregivers” because they don’t speak out. This is often because they don’t want to embarrass their loved one or because they want others to remember them as they were before the disease. It is sometimes because they don’t want to sound like they are complaining because they gladly carry the burden of being a caregiver to those they love. However, the only way to shake the stigma that comes with Alzheimer’s is by sharing these experiences, which will also show others the importance of finding a cure.

My second goal for this site is that it will help caregivers feel more connected by listening to stories of those who are facing the same difficulties that they face. It’s also comforting just to talk to someone about it sometimes. When I thanked one of the caregivers for allowing me to tell her story, she said that it was me that needed to be thanked. She said it was just nice to know that someone cared. Those words made all of the hard work worth it.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

