Inspiration from the IMPACT group

IMPACT

A friend recently told me that the posts she enjoys reading most on my blog fall under the “current inspirations” category. If I were asked which ones are my favorite to write, I would say the same thing. I love writing about what inspires me, and my hope is that I will be able to tell a story in a way that inspires someone else.

During my time as a writer, I have had the opportunity to meet and write about some pretty fascinating people. I never know what an interview is going to be like until I’m there, and I have definitely interviewed people who weren’t passionate or excited about what they were telling me. As a journalist, you learn to move past those interviews, and you get through them just to get the story done. They aren’t memorable. The interviews that leave you feeling like you have the power to change the world, or that the person you just met is already changing it, are the ones that stay with you forever. They are the ones that remind you what it means to be passionate or to truly care about something, and they are filled with quotes that you couldn’t leave behind if you tried.

I interviewed a group of women for a story last semester, and while it might be a few months old, I consider it a current inspiration. The article was about a support group for breast cancer survivors in Tuscaloosa, and it ended up in the newspaper on Christmas day. It wasn’t my writing that made this such an amazing story. The three women that I interviewed are the reason it was so strong. My only regret was that I couldn’t take my readers to that morning at Chick-fil-a, where I sat down with three women I had never met, and listened as they poured out their hearts about surviving breast cancer, raising children, being young, and growing old. Their words would inspire anyone to keep fighting or just to be thankful for everything they have. All I could do was put them down on paper and hope that someone would read them. 

I’ve listed some of my favorite quotes from the article below, but you can find the complete article here.

1. “I was sitting there preparing to die when this little lady, as white-headed as she could be, came bouncing into my room. The only thing that I remember her saying was, ‘I was where you are now 16 years ago.’ Hearing her say she did this all those years ago was just a glimmer of hope when I didn’t have any.”

2. “I will honestly say from the bottom of my heart because of all the blessings, that even though I would have never wanted breast cancer and it sure wouldn’t have been on my prayer list, I wouldn’t give it back. I actually like the post-cancer me better than I like the pre-cancer me.”

3. “You can just live to get through the day, or you can live each day to the fullest, and I think IMPACT helps you do that. It makes you see each day as a gift, and it changes some of your priorities. I’m a better person because of it.”

4. “There is still somebody out there that needs that hope, and I still feel that pull to help someone else,” she said. “IMPACT has helped me to see that there is a happy, healthy, joyful life after breast cancer. I’m still here and I want to continue that encouragement.”

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Inspiration from the IMPACT group

  1. Billy Bob the Writing Snob says:

    This post discussed some of my favorite topics, Chick-fil-a and breast cancer survivors! Thank you so much and keep up the good, tear-inducing work, “Laura”!

Leave a Reply

