Are blogs disappearing?

images

The creation of this website doesn’t mark the first time that I have blogged, nor does it mark the first time that I have thought about blogging. What it marks is the first time that I have actually registered a domain, committed to a theme, and clicked publish on a blog that is just for me and for all to see. I have blogged for various classes during my time at UA, but this blog doesn’t come with a strict set of instructions like the ones I have posted to in the past. It can be about anything

With endless possibilities of things to blog about it might seem ironic that I am choosing to start my blog with a post about the death of blogging and the disappearance of bloggers. Nevertheless, it’s a topic that has been on my mind since I stumbled across an article online a few months ago that claimed blogs are just another thing of the past. Besides being distracted by a marathon viewing of Downton Abbey and an obsession with perfecting my gingerbread cookie recipe, this article is the reason that “start blogging” remained an unchecked item on my to-do list over Christmas break. 

In his article “The Blog is dead, long live the blog,” Jason Kottke says that 2014 will be the year we notice the death of the blog. It’s not that they will die this year. According to Kottke, blogs have been a dying breed for the past few years.  He blames social media sites or mobile applications like Tumblr, Twitter, Pinterest, Reddit, Snapchat, Facebook, and Instagram, and I hate to say that I agree with him.

However, I don’t know that I completely agree with every statement that Kottke makes. For example, he says that blogs are for 40-somethings with kids and here I am, a 20-something, without kids, but with a blog. I don’t think that I am any type of exception, but instead, that I am someone whose thoughts seem to make more sense when they are staring back at me from the pages of a notebook or computer screen. I also happen to be one of those people who likes having more than 140 characters in which to express my random musings. I don’t think I’m alone.

I can’t consider myself an expert on the topic since I’ve only been blogging for, well, a few hours. I can say that I don’t think blogging will ever disappear completely. It might evolve and become something different in the future, but the basic idea of the blog is here to stay. Some say that long form writing and the time it takes to write or read a blog are reasons the art will fade away. The numerous people who have said they sometimes tire of scrolling through their Facebook and twitter feeds say otherwise. Blogging might not look the same in 10 years, but bloggers will still existSuccessful bloggers who have impressive followings aren’t going to disappear. Blogging is here to stay because there will always be people who want to express their opinions, thoughts, and ideas in a way that gives them the chance to share them with others. 

What do you think? Are blogs here to stay, disappearing, or just evolving? I would love to hear your from you!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Are blogs disappearing?

  1. Steph says:

    I don’t think blogs will go away entirely; they serve as a nice main hub for information, but I do think Twitter, Instagram, etc are vital to reaching targeted audiences. It’s all about providing access to information!

Leave a Reply

